Discover the different types of whisky that are distilled across the world, from Scotland to America, and Ireland to Japan.

While scotch whisky holds an undisputed place on the global stage in the world of whisky, there are many different varieties of whisky and whiskey that go beyond mere spelling differences. Of course, all whisky at its core is composed of three key ingredients (grain, yeast and water) yet there  are particular processes and practices that set each apart. But what is the difference between them? In this article we lay out the key points of differentiation which include: the country it is made, the grain used and the way in which it is distilled.



There are a number of countries across the world that are increasingly recognised and celebrated for the whisky they produce. These include Scotland, Ireland, America and Japan.



As noted, Scotland is famous for its Scotch whisky. The spirit has been distilled in Scotland for over 500 years throughout five main regions: Scotland: Highlands, Lowlands, Islay, Speyside and Campbelltown. Each area has a rich history, and creates distinct whiskies influenced by the different environments they are distilled in. Part of what makes Scotch unique is its double distillation process, and it also has to be matured in oak casks for a minimum of three years to be considered Scotch whisky. Additionally, scotch can only be matured in Scotland to be classified as such. Both single malts and blended whiskies are created in Scotland.